Uncategorized

Student Voices: Laura Cornesse – History of Art

UCC Quad
Laura Cornesse, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn, Germany.
Erasmus student, Academic Year 2015-2016, Department of History of Art, University College Cork, Ireland.
 
History of Art, UCC courses taken:
HA2011 From Modernism to Postmodernism: Art After 1945
HA2013 Representations
 
‘Spending the academic year 2015/16 in Ireland as an Erasmus student was a unique experience for me. I had never lived in an English speaking country or studied anywhere quite like UCC before and just couldn’t wait for it to start. At my home university, I had already spent two years working towards a double major in Comparative Literature and English Studies, a degree reflected in the variety of classes I attended while abroad for the third and final year of my undergraduate. Among courses on drama, mythology and the Irish literary revival at UCC were two modules from the History of Art Department, focusing on artists and movements I had no prior knowledge of but was eager to learn more about. Therefore, during my second semester in UCC I chose to attend From Modernism to Postmodernism: Art After 1945 and Representations. Looking back on this decision now, I don’t have any regrets.’
 
‘The lecture series in art history at UCC continuously surprised me, and positively so. I followed the discussions on postcolonialism in art closely, looked forward to the discovery of new artists and altogether enjoyed the fresh approach given to issues I had only ever come across from a literary point of view. My art history modules touched upon ideas I was vaguely familiar with, having discussed them in a completely different context, and yet the classes felt entirely new to me. As an international student, I was particularly interested in seeing how painters from different countries and decades coped with the horrors of the first half of the nineteenth century, among them German artists I had never heard of before.’
 
‘The Art History courses in their entirety were thought-provoking and well structured, the lecturers insightful and always willing to talk things through with the student who’d never written an Art History paper before. Throughout this experience I gained a fresh perspective on old and current issues alike, making me evaluate my own work more critically as well as approach matters with a new understanding that will influence my academic works for years to come.’
Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

