Blogs

UCC International Pre-Departure Blog Series: ICCC Week One- Irish Apple Crumble Cake

IMG_7744

No-makeup, French-cheese-and-wine-apron glam.

This is the Irish Culture Crash Course. Welcome to Week One.

If you read my last post, you’ll know that each week until I begin traveling, I will be reading an Irish book, watching an Irish film, and cooking an Irish recipe, then writing all about it!

This week the recipe I made was Irish Apple Crumble Cake. Here’s how it went.

IMG_7684

Ingredients: brown sugar, butter, flour, eggs, salt, cinnamon, baking powder, and apple. So simple!

In the past, I’ve often attempted to bake French macarons, which are notoriously difficult to perfect and extremely easy to ruin. So when I read this recipe and realized it needed no special techniques and simply involved mixing up a few ingredients, I was stoked to begin!

IMG_7688

I used the trusty KitchenAid mixer that has been in my family since before my conception (no lie).

First I mixed the butter and brown sugar. The butter had almost melted from the intense heat it received from both the Texas weather and my notoriously warm hands.

kitchen

Then I folded in the dry ingredients and added apple chunks.

output_UK9piQ

And mashed up the crumble topping with my hands! So relaxing. SO exfoliating.

output_m9rzqJ

Look at that crumble (thanks for the photo, Mummy!)

DSC03200

It turned out amazingly!!! 5 stars from me. Simple. Delicious. Irish.

Enjoy the next morning with a mug of Barry’s Irish Breakfast Tea.

IMG_7810

Coming up later this week – reviews of The Commitments (the movie) and Dubliners (the book).

Thanks for reading! Comment below with a picture of your crumble cake (click here for the recipe) or tweet me @elenacathryn.

– Elena

Leave a Reply

