Uncategorized

UCC: I would go back in a second’s notice.

lr

Blog by Laura Riley

Explore Laura’s blog here

http://laurarileyblog.wordpress.com/category/reflection/

From January 1-June 4th 2013, I had the once in a lifetime opportunity to study abroad at University College Cork in Cork, Ireland. I had never even contemplated studying abroad until late in my sophomore year at St. Norbert College and before I knew it I was flying over the Atlantic Ocean ready to start a new adventure. I didn’t really know what to expect and I have a tendency of keeping my expectations low (so I’m always happily surprised), but studying abroad far surpassed my greatest expectations. The professors at UCC were incredibly helpful and my classes were genuinely interesting. I had the opportunity to learn Irish folklore, history (including fieldtrips around Cork!), and even how to play the tin whistle. The campus was incredibly beautiful, even when the wind and rain brutally destroyed my umbrella. I would go back in a second’s notice. The people I met, the places I was able to travel to, and the incredible lessons I learned while abroad are beyond what most people are lucky enough to experience in a lifetime, let alone in five months. Simply the best. Cheers.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

