Uncategorized

Two months studying in Ireland are enough to realise how much I’ve learned and grown up

Drawing by Luiza de Siqueira Almeida Reis

Drawing by Luiza de Siqueira Almeida Reis

Blog by Luiza de Siqueira Almeida Reis

Two months studying in Ireland are enough to realise how much I’ve learned and grown up. Becoming more independent and learning to say “no” more often, planning my priorities, making new friends, being more active and patient! Living in another country is about becoming an observer and a good listener. You can’t expect that everything is going to be the way it used to be, or that everything should happen as the way you want it to. And, actually, that’s great! It’s a way to open your mind to new things, things that will change you. If it will change for better or worse, it all depends on you, and on your choices.

doll

Every day is like revealing a smaller Matryoshka of a different type, inside another one. You never know what you are going to find, or who you are going to meet, you simply don’t know and that is the fun aspect of living here. So, if someone asks me right now how I’m feeling about being away from home, I would say that yes, I miss my family a lot, my friends and, of course, my animals, my passion in life! But I’m sure I’ll come back home as a more patient, mature person and as a good traveller, because, after all:

“A man needs to travel. By his own means, not by stories, images, books or TV. By his own, with his eyes and feet, to understand what he is. To some day plant his own trees and give them some value. To know the cold to enjoy the heat. To feel the distance and lack of shelter to be well under his own ceiling. A man needs to travel to places he doesn’t know to break this arrogance that makes us see the world as we imagine it, and not simply as it is or may be. That makes us teachers and doctors of what we have never seen, when we should just be learners, and simply go see it.” (Amyr Klink)

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

