Uncategorized

One of the best decisions I could have ever made

By FELIPE SANTINI TEIXEIRA FRACON

18

Living in Ireland has been such an amazing experience, especially when it comes to life in Cork City. I have had the opportunity to make new friends from all over the world not only in UCC but also in Victoria Lodge, the accommodation where I live. The university gives us support to get in touch with new cultures and sports through the hundreds clubs and societies we can join. Ireland has the most beautiful places I could ever imagine seeing, and lots of them are only a few steps away from our city. The weather here is a bit different than weather I am used to, but it’s also nice having the four seasons of the year in only one day. The language is still a challenge for me, not only because I am not a native English speaker, but also because of the “strong” Irish accent. Irish people are so friendly and welcoming, they have even taught me some words in Irish language, such as “Pilib is ainm dom”, which means my name is Felipe.

I know that I will have lots more wonderful experiences throughout this year of living abroad, but from this first month I can say that coming to this country, this city and UCC is one of the best decisions I could have ever made. Feeling safe, having fun, getting to know the Irish culture and studying in an awesome university that offers so much, is everything I was looking for in an exchange programme.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

