Uncategorized

Changed for the Better

Life in Cork has been full of changes for me – but all of them for the better!  Besides all the expected changes that come with living in a different country (trying different foods, living completely on my own, discovering how to work the different appliances, and getting accustomed to the fact that cars drive on the opposite side of the road), I have been faced with some unexpected, though quite pleasant, changes.

The first of these being the weather: when I left my house in Wisconsin on 2nd January, it was about -9°F (-22°C) and snowing.  When I arrived in Cork, it was warm: 45°F (7°C) and not even raining!  That was the first major change I noticed and it was a change that I am very grateful for!  Sure, the rain takes a little getting used to, but I much prefer a light rain over feet of snow!

SNOW

Quite the weather change: going from Wisconsin cold and snow to Irish sunshine and green grass.  Below is one of the first pictures I took upon my arrival in Ireland.

ireland

Another big change was Cork City itself.  Cork is by far the biggest city I have ever lived in.  Growing up in a town of less than 200 people, I didn’t know what to expect when I came to Cork.  In fact, I prepared for the worst: nonstop hustle and bustle, people and cars everywhere, litter on the sidewalks, people to be a little unfriendly, and me constantly getting lost in the city.  Never have I been so wrong! Cork is a fantastic city!  Although the city is much, much larger than I am used to, Cork feels like a small town.  I feel completely safe exploring the city by myself.  In fact, that is one of my favorite things to do in my free time:  wandering around, taking pictures, and meeting people.  Everyone is very friendly, welcoming, and helpful: there have been countless occasions where a friendly local has stopped what they were doing to give me directions somewhere or point out and explain a historical monument or favorite place in Cork.

Although I have only been in Cork for two short weeks, I can honestly say that my experiences here have changed me for the better – and I can’t wait to see what experiences, adventures, people, and stories the rest of the semester will bring.

picsPictures I took around Cork City…

Challenge: Find these locations for yourself!

Blog by Lindsey Pelke

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

