Uncategorized

The English Market, Cork

Study abroad student Jennifer Dillon chats about The English Market in Cork City.

EM

It only took me a few days after arriving in Cork to discover the English Market. Being in an entirely different country and culture can be a little daunting, but one immediate and comforting constant is food. At the market, this common thread brings a diverse group of people together that might not normally cross paths. A dazzling array of fruits, vegetables, fish, meat, cheese, bread, and chocolate are just some of the things that fill the stalls. I have found that this fresh selection has more to offer than the commercial and processed foods found in most large supermarkets in America. More than just the food, though, the English Market is an incredibly vibrant space. The sights, sounds, and smells are enough to make me go out of my way to stroll through it. As I stopped to buy a raspberry scone among the mouth-watering assortment of treats on my last trip, the vendor snuck an extra one into my bag. This gesture made my day, though I’m going to have to take it easy on the scones as I plan to make the English Market a frequent destination.

RM

The delicious raspberry scone stall

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

